Gundagai Accommodation, Hotels, Tours & Information

Refine Search

To select multiple items, Ctrl-Click (or Cmd-Click on Mac)





Places in Gundagai

Places nearby Gundagai

Gundagai

Gundagai will be forever associated with the Australian folklore of 'The Dog On The Tuckerbox' and the characters immortalised in the stories of 'Dad and Dave' at Snake Gully by Steele Rudd. Visit the many historic buildings listed on the National Trust Register. Situated on the Murrumbidgee River, Gundagai is located just off the Hume Highway between Yass and Holbrook.

Gundagai

Gundagai: Where To Go / Sightseeing

The Dog on the Tucker Box


Since 1932, the Dog has sat beside the Hume Highway, a favourite stopping place for thousands of travellers. Originally set up to assist Gundagai Hospital, today the Dog still helps the hospital's vital work with the monies from its wishing well and royalties from some souvenirs. Over the decades it has been celebrated in song and story, and faithfully commemorates the efforts of the European pioneers who settled the region.

The Dog on the Tucker Box Pioneer Monument welcomes visitors with a newly redesigned garden precinct featuring Australian animal figurines, a cafe serving hot and cold refreshments, souvenirs, Australiana, antiques, old wares and a peaceful picnic area away from the busy highway, with plenty of parking (caravans and tourist buses included). Special events benefiting a range of charities are held throughout the year, culminating in the Dog's Birthday each November.




37 Annie Pyers Drive
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 0.0K from Gundagai

Gundagai Historic Museum


Those interested in history will find the Gundagai Historical Museum fascinating. It is a treasure trove of memorabilia, with displays of pioneer life, bushrangers and even Phar Lap's saddlecloth.

One highlight of the vast collection is the two gorgets (medallions) presented to Yarri and Jacky, the Wiradjuri men whose efforts saved many lives during the great flood of 1852.

The collection also includes a T-model Ford, farm machinery, wagons, equipment, clothing, coins, stamps, household items and other interesting paraphernalia from the 19th and early 20th century.

The museum is managed entirely by dedicated volunteers and the visitor's book hints at the nostalgic journey of many who have spent time going through the displays.




Homer Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 0.1K from Gundagai

Historic Bridges of Gundagai


The landscape at Gundagai is dominated by four bridges spanning the Murrumbidgee flats: the historic Prince Alfred Bridge, the timber Railway Bridge, and now the dual Sheahan bridges of the Hume Highway.

The timber viaducts are wonderful examples of early engineering solutions to crossing a major flood plain. Their national significance is recognised with listing by the National Trust. They are a spectacular latticework of wooden trusses, spanning the flood plains and river.

Follow the River Walk from Yarri Park - they are well worth a look. Follow the signs or pick up a brochure from the Visitor Centre.




End of Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 0.2K from Gundagai

The Old Gundagai Gaol


Entertaining and informative self-guided audio tours of this heritage site are available daily for hire at the Gundagai Visitor Information Centre. Call into the Centre to pick up a Audio, headphones and a key and head up to the Gaol to start your tour.

Explore cells that held the infamous bushrangers Moonlite and Peisley. Enjoy world class narration of various stories of law and order in a frontier town.

The Old Gundagai Gaol stands at the corner of First Avenue and Byron Street, surrounded by a high wall of local slate with rendered capping.




First Avenue ,
Corner of Byron Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 0.3K from Gundagai

The Gabriel Historic Photo Gallery


Gundagai is home to a truly unique, private collection of historic photographs which are now internationally known as the Gabriel Collection.

The town Doctor in Gundagai from 1887, Dr Charles Louis Gabriel was also a keen amateur photographer. Local businessman Cliff Butcher found some 1000 of Dr Gabriel's glass negatives in the basement of a premises in Sheridan Street. The photos record the town in which Dr Gabriel lived for 40 years.

More than 150 photos are on permanent display in the Gabriel Gallery, and also featured is a camera similar to the one used by Dr Gabriel. The Gallery also displays other unique items of interest including some of Henry Lawson's original letters and possessions.




Mitre 10 Shop Building,
177 Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 0.3K from Gundagai

The Old Mill


The old mill was built in 1848 by Mr J Morley for Flood and Hanley as a flour mill. This was the first flour mill in Gundagai. The building has withstood all floods including the fierce ones of 1852, 1853,1870, and 1925. However it did have some holes knocked through the walls by the floods fierce torrents and the patches can still be seen today. The Old Mill is a great tribute to Joseph Morley who set it on such a solid foundation of stone.

This building is the oldest building in Gundagai and the only surviving representative of the original Gundagai township on the river flat.





Sheridan Lane
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 0.3K from Gundagai

Gundagai Emporium


Come and browse the varied displays on show within the majestic art deco Gundagai Picture Theatre centrally located on Gundagai's main street.

Some of the things on display are antique furniture, antique and reproduction porcelain and glassware, vintage clothing and furs, cast collectables and memorabilia, costume jewellery and much much more.




219 Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 0.4K from Gundagai

"The Great Rescue of 1852" Sculpture


Yarri and Jacky Jacky stand on the corner of Kitchener and Sheridan Streets. A larger than life-size, bronze sculpture to commemorate the 165th anniversary of the Great Flood of Gundagai in 1852.
The sculpture celebrates the heroic work of Yarri and Jacky Jacky, along with other members of the Wiradjuri tribe in saving some 69 townsfolk from the flood waters.

On the night of June 24, 1852 two Wiradjuri men, Yarri and Jacky Jacky, rescued one third of the Gundagai town's residents in frail bark canoes from the flooded Murrumbidgee River. It was a protracted rescue effort, continuing over some days and nights.

This sculpture is a must see in this beautiful country town!




249 Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 0.6K from Gundagai

Gundagai Map

Gundagai Map - Legend
Multiple Hotels
Hotel
Click on the map markers for more information. Hover over the map to zoom in & out or see satellite & terrain views.