Nangus Accommodation, Hotels, Tours & Information

Refine Search

To select multiple items, Ctrl-Click (or Cmd-Click on Mac)





Places nearby Nangus

Nangus

Nangus is a small country village on the Wagga Wagga to Gundagai Road on the north side of the Murrimbidgee river. Nangus is approximately 24 kilometres due west of Gundagai in the Riverina area of Australia and in Gundagai Shire. At the 2011 census, Nangus and the surrounding areas had a population of 410 people. The nearby Nangus Station and Yabtree Stations are heritage listed. The Historic Nangus Post Office opened on 1 July 1897.

Nangus has a Anglican Church, General Store, with an off-site liquor license (Turkey Shed), Public School, Public Hall, Fire Station, Petrol Station, Tennis Courts, and Hockey Fields are amongst some of its services and attractions.

Come visit this quaint little village and enjoy the country atmosphere!

Nangus: Where To Go / Sightseeing

Dad, Dave, Mum and Mabel


These statues are a tribute to Steele Rudd's famous 'Snake Gully' characters - Dad, Dave, Mum and Mabel. This life size family has been immortalised in copper by sculptor Aurel Ragus.

The characters of Dad and Dave are a well-known part of Australia's cultural history. Created by Steele Rudd for his 'On Our Selection' novels, Dad, Dave, Mum and Mabel, were characters set against the backdrop of land selection in the late 19th century. The humour of the 'On Our Selection' novels struck a chord with readers, and the Dad and Dave characters formed the basis for a couple of silent films: On Our Selection (1920) and Rudd's New Selection (1921). During the 1930s the characters became the basis of a popular radio series, Dad and Dave.

The characters are on display in Carberry Park adjacent to Gundagai Visitor Information and Travel Centre on Sheridan Street, Gundagai.




249 Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 16.9K from Nangus

Gundagai Gold Trails


Gold was identified by the geologist Rev. W. B. Clarke at Gundagai in 1842. A gold rush hit the area in 1858 following further discoveries of gold and mining continued initially until 1875. Following a second gold rush in 1894, mines operated well into the 20th Century, with some mining activity still occurring in 2007.

The best known historical mines were the 'Robinson and Rice's Mine' (Long Tunnel Mine) a few miles south west of Gundagai and the 'Prince of Wales Mine' a few miles to the immediate west of Gundagai.

'Nangus Island' in the middle of the Murrumbidgee River at Nangus is marked as one of the early goldfields and was previously named 'M'Arthur Island'.

Gundagai was an important staging post, with gold from Adelong sent for delivery to the Sydney Mint. Sergeant Parry, shot dead in an 1864 coach hold up, is buried here.




249 Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 16.9K from Nangus

Gundagai Built Heritage Walk


A pleasant two kilometre stroll viewing many historic points of interest. This walk starts and finishes at the Gundagai Visitor Information Centre.

The first point of call is Rusconi's Marble Masterpiece located at the Visitors Centre then onward up Sheridan Street with 27 interesting places to explore including Gabriel Historic Photo Gallery, the Old Gundagai Gaol, the Heritage Railway Station and much more.

Come discover the extensive history on offer at Gundagai!





249 Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 16.9K from Nangus

Rusconi Marble Masterpiece


The Marble Masterpiece was created by the dexterous hands of the late Frank Rusconi and represents 28 years of work by this master craftsman.

Mr Rusconi was born in Australia last century and started work on the Masterpiece in 1910, finishing many hours later in 1938.

Consisting of 20,948 pieces of Australian marble, each and every piece lovingly hand cut and polished, this is a truly magnificent work of art and must be seen to be believed.




Gundagai Visitor Information Centre,
249 Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 16.9K from Nangus

The Old Mill


The old mill was built in 1848 by Mr J Morley for Flood and Hanley as a flour mill. This was the first flour mill in Gundagai. The building has withstood all floods including the fierce ones of 1852, 1853,1870, and 1925. However it did have some holes knocked through the walls by the floods fierce torrents and the patches can still be seen today. The Old Mill is a great tribute to Joseph Morley who set it on such a solid foundation of stone.

This building is the oldest building in Gundagai and the only surviving representative of the original Gundagai township on the river flat.





Sheridan Lane
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 17.1K from Nangus

Gundagai Emporium


Come and browse the varied displays on show within the majestic art deco Gundagai Picture Theatre centrally located on Gundagai's main street.

Some of the things on display are antique furniture, antique and reproduction porcelain and glassware, vintage clothing and furs, cast collectables and memorabilia, costume jewellery and much much more.




219 Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 17.1K from Nangus

The Gabriel Historic Photo Gallery


Gundagai is home to a truly unique, private collection of historic photographs which are now internationally known as the Gabriel Collection.

The town Doctor in Gundagai from 1887, Dr Charles Louis Gabriel was also a keen amateur photographer. Local businessman Cliff Butcher found some 1000 of Dr Gabriel's glass negatives in the basement of a premises in Sheridan Street. The photos record the town in which Dr Gabriel lived for 40 years.

More than 150 photos are on permanent display in the Gabriel Gallery, and also featured is a camera similar to the one used by Dr Gabriel. The Gallery also displays other unique items of interest including some of Henry Lawson's original letters and possessions.




Mitre 10 Shop Building,
177 Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 17.2K from Nangus

Gundagai Memorial Cairns


There are two Memorial Cairns in Gundagai.

One is the Rose Inn Cairn situated on the Gundagai Golf Course on Middleton Drive. This Cairn is to commemorate the public house constructed by Thomas Lindley which was part of Old Gundagai that was lost in the 1852 flood.

Many explorers passed close to Gundagai on their way to Port Phillip Bay including: Hume and Hovell, Charles Sturt and Edward John Eyre. This is marked by Cairn in the River Caravan Park. This is also the spot where Sturt crossed the Murrumbidgee River for the first time.




Middleton Drive
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 17.2K from Nangus

Nangus: Travel Tips

Gundagai Visitor Information Centre


The Gundagai Visitor Information and Travel Centre is located on the left hand side of the main street (Sheridan Street) as you come into town. The friendly staff can guide you to all the attractions Gundagai has to offer. Explore Gundagai's Architectural Heritage Walk to capture the essence of this historic and fascinating township.

Gundagai's best kept secret is Rusconi`s Marble Masterpiece on display at the Visitor Centre - 20,948 pieces of carved New South Wales marble taking 28 years to complete. This one man's hobby has become a must see.

Enquire at the counter for an audio tour of the old Gundagai Gaol, where Captain Moonlight, the bushranger, was sentenced and spent the night. In Carberry Park adjacent to the centre are the Dad, Dave, Mum and Mabel copper statues, wonderfully sculpted by Aurel Ragus.




249 Sheridan Street
Gundagai, NSW, 2722

Located 16.9K from Nangus

Nangus Map

Nangus Map - Legend
Multiple Hotels
Hotel
Click on the map markers for more information. Hover over the map to zoom in & out or see satellite & terrain views.